Skip to main content

Theology Prize

This prize is awarded in recognition of achievement in the field of Theology


Festive presentation of the prize
Wednesday, 29th July, 7:30 pm

in the Grossee Aula of the University




Prize-Winner 2015:

Prof. Dr. Angelika Neuwirth



Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Christoph Markschies



Prof. Dr. Eberhard Schockenhoff


Eberhard Schockenhoff


Dr. h.c. Annette Schavan


Annette Schavan
Prof. Dr. Angelika Neuwirth

Biografie Prof. Dr. Angelika Neuwirth

Born 1943 in Nienburg/Weser. Education: Oriental Studies at German and international universities (Italy, Iran, Israel). 1977-83 Visiting professor at the University of Jordan, Amman, since 1991 Chair of Arabic Studies at Freie Universität Berlin. 1994-1999 Director of the Orient Institute of the German Oriental Society in Beirut and Istanbul. Since 2007 director of the research project “Corpus Coranicum” at the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences.

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Christoph Markschies


Biografie Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Christoph Markschies

Born on October 3, 1962 in Berlin, studied Theology, Classics and Philosophy at the Universities of Marburg, Munich and Tübingen and in Jerusalem. Award of a doctoral degree (1991) and Habilitation (1994) in Tübingen. Chair of Church History at the Universities of Jena 1994-2000, Heidelberg 2000-2004, and since 2004 at the Humboldt Universität zu Berlin. 2006 - 2010 president of the latter. Fellow of the Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin/Institute for Advanced Studies (1998/1999) and of the Institute for Advanced Studies of the Hebrew University Jerusalem (1999/2000); Visiting Fellow at Trinity College, Oxford (2009/2013), at the Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton (2011), and Stewart Visiting Research Scholar in the Humanities Council, Programm of Jewish Studies, University of Princeton (2010). Doctor honoris causa awarded by the Lucian-Blaga-University Sibiu (Romania) in 2007 and by the University of Oslo in 2011. Member of several academies. Vice-President of the Berlin Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities since 2012. Member of several scientific advisory councils (e.g. the Fritz Thyssen Stiftung and the German Protestant Institute of Archeology), corresponding member of the German Archelogical Institute (DAI). German National Council Leibniz Prize in 2001. Author and editor of numerous publications.